Franconia, New Hampshire

On our way back from Canada, we spent Tuesday night at a small campground in Vassalboro, Maine. This was just an overnight stop and a place to unwind as we begin to head South. The following afternoon we arrived in Franconia, New Hampshire. Franconia is a delightful little town nestled in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. We were lucky enough to arrive in Franconia for their annual Lupine Festival. Lupines are beautiful vibrant purple, white and pink flowers which become quite plentiful in fields this time of year. Many calendar photographers flock to Franconia to capture the hillsides blanketed in wildflowers. After photographing the Lupine, we stopped for lunch at Polly’s Pancake House. This quaint establishment has been serving delicious food for 75 years, and I highly recommend Polly’s famous pancakes. After finishing lunch, we went hiking in Franconia State Park. Our four mile hike consisted of steep, rugged terrain, but the magnificent vistas were well worth the effort. We were able to view numerous waterfalls, including the parks famous flume. The flume is a deep narrow gorge with waterfalls and rapids in its basin. The flume has attracted visitors since the 1800’s.

cutoutfield4 _MG_1649 _MG_1608 _MG_1614 _MG_1559 cutout1a _MG_1572 _MG_1511 _MG_1526 _MG_1545a _MG_1667 _MG_1691 _MG_1549 _MG_1726 _MG_1783 _MG_1795 _MG_1839 _MG_1708 _MG_1718 IMG_1430 _MG_1845 IMG_1702

2 thoughts on “Franconia, New Hampshire

  1. Brad fabulous work if you can call it work. You have a true eye for content and composition. Your presentation draws your viewers in to the detail and beauty of the images. Makes me want to experience it for myself but through the eye of your camera I feel like I am right there with you. Are you able to enjoy the moment or are you consumed with the details of the shot? As your dad knows I hope to travel in our 5th wheel in a few years. You inspire me to get out there and explore this great country. Thanks so much for sharing your journeys with us.
    Bob Greenwood

    • Hi Mr. Greenwood,
      Thank you so much for the the kind compliments, I really appreciate you taking the time to write. I am so happy I am able to share our journey with you through my photos. It really has been an incredible experience and I hope you have the opportunity to travel soon. America is a beautiful place and exploring it by RV is such a wonderful way to do it. I know you will enjoy every second of your travels. Interestingly, my mother also always asks me if I am able to enjoy myself with my eye behind the lens all the time. The camera and I almost feel as one if that is possible, it is a hobby I thoroughly enjoy! Brad

Leave a comment