Watkins Glen State Park

We spent Friday night at Green Wood Campground in Vermont. This campground served as the perfect overnight stop before continuing west towards Watkins Glen, New York.  Nestled in the Finger Lakes region, the town of Watkins Glen is filled with stunning waterfalls, sparkling lakes and vast pastures which dominate the landscape. Additionally, as every motorsport enthusiasts knows, the town is also home to Watkins Glen International Raceway. We spent both Saturday and Sunday night at Watkins Glen State Park. The park was stunning, with magnificent views around every corner. The most spectacular feature in the park was an immense narrow gorge, which contained 19 waterfalls! We also had the opportunity to visit our friend Jenna, who recently moved to Watkins Glen from Sarasota, to work for the Farm Sanctuary. The Farm Sanctuary raises awareness for the inhumane conditions industrialized factory farm animals endure. The Farm Sanctuary offers beautiful pastures for rescued farm animals to roam and rehabilitate. Jenna gave us a fabulous informative and eye opening tour of the sanctuary. We also spent time with these farm animals and learned of their plight. I have always admired Jenna’s dedication and her compassion; Jenna will truly be the perfect spokesperson for these animals. Way to go Jenna!

_MG_2075cutoutfalls2 _MG_2042 _MG_1965 _MG_1993 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA_MG_1997 _MG_2006 _MG_2028 IMG_2103 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 thoughts on “Watkins Glen State Park

  1. Brad, your photography is absolutely amazing and even inspirational. I saw a German quote a few days ago by Henri Cartier-Bresson that I translated and I thought of your art. “A good photo is a photo you look at for more than a second.” I really admire your patience and observation of detail in each of your photos. I’ve looked through them several times now and I still enjoy viewing them again.
    It was so wonderful to see you and your family and I’m so glad we were able to explore Watkins Glen together. Thank you for your sweet compliments and I’m glad you enjoyed the tour :). Just by sharing your experience of visiting farm sanctuary, you’re making a difference toward helping animals.

    p.s. I really enjoy reading your blog posts. Your writing is phenomenal; it is professional, clear and organized, and captivating. When you write your first novel, I will look forward to reading it. 🙂

    • Hi Jenna,
      Thank you so much, you are too kind! It was great seeing you and sharing time together. I hope this blog will help spread the word about the The Farm Sanctuary and the wonderful purpose it serves. Although I am not a vegan, I do realize that even one less meat dish per week can make a difference. You would be proud on how I have cut down, if only in a small way! 🙂

Leave a comment